RedRegulatorForums  

Go Back   RedRegulatorForums > Model Specfic Tricks/Modifications

Old 11-11-2020, 06:30 PM

Default 2005 26' FS Tuna Loading Tricks

Hey All - Newbie here, great forum, tons of great information for sure. Just bought a new to me, meticulously maintained 26 FS that I plan to "gently" rig for tuna off the coat of Cape Ann for next summer.

I've fished for a number of years on my brothers 31 Cabo. Picked up a ton of great tricks of the trade and nuances as to how to be successful in the fishery. Not looking to make a living but more about the fun and camaraderie of a hard fought battle with friends and family when working to land a BFT. Not sure if I'll fish Rec or go full on Commercial. Probably rec so I can keep the fish and distribute to those that will enjoy and use the fish we harvest.

That being said, the Cabo had a great tuna door. Not true for the 26 FS obviously.

For those that fish BFT, what methods are you using successfully to bring the fish into the boat. Knowing that a 72" fish could easily weigh 250-400lbs or more.

Do I trust the block and tackle method tied off to the T Top? Ive seen the tuna slide idea. Promising but a lot of re-work on the boat.

Would love to hear how others are retrieving their fish specific to the Regulators. I don't want to post to THT or DEBF as I'm trying to be specific to Regulators.

Thanks in advance for any ideas or comments!
Old 11-12-2020, 09:41 AM

Default Consider a removable gin pole

There are a couple of Regulators one a 23 and the other a 26 in the Marblehead, Salem area that have telescoping, collapsible, removable gin poles that fit into a socket in the rail and bracket in the deck for lifting tuna over the side using a block and tackle attached to the top of the pole.
Old 11-12-2020, 10:08 AM
Enthusiast